Alabama  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
10/27/09, 9:44 pm

Legal Question


Police officers came to my home in regards to a call they got about possible drug activity at my home. They asked to come in and look around, so with nothing to hide I allowed them. Once they were inside they began opening cabinets and even went as far as going through my panty drawer and other persnoal things. I feel like they took advantage of my young age. As far as I am concerned, they needed a warrant to search my home like that. Did they need a warrant?


question bubble
11/03/09, 11:25 am

Legal Answer


If you are a legal resident of the property, your verbal permission to permit them entry to search is just as good as a warrant, and no warrant is required.

Charles Aspinwall

Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search