Alabama | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
sex offender notification law illegal
My husband plead guilty to sex offenses 6 years ago, was placed on probation.
Before his plea we were living as man and wife, raising our child.
1 1/2 year before he was off probation Alabama put him under the notification law.
He has been arrested and charged with not complying with the law by "establishing a residance", we have lived together in the same place for 6 years... before his conviction and this new law.
Sherif Dept. says that since we seperated for 6-8 months around the time they made the law retro... that this constitutes his establishing a residance when our daughter and I moved back in. We did not divorce and we went to court ordered marriage counseling during the seperation.
Where do we go for help? He is looking at 15 years to life on this charge?
Thank you,


