Alabama  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
5/19/07, 1:33 pm

Legal Question


Constitutional Law

Thought I'd ask and hope someone answers. Article One states a member of the House must be 25, etc. Constitution doesn't mandate, but every Speaker has been a Member of the House. Article II says a President must be 35 years old, etc. Under 3 USC and the 1947 Presidential Succession Act, if offices of President and VP are vacant, Speaker becomes President. Okay, so what if both offices are vacant and the Speaker is *not* 35 years-old? Does the Supreme Court decide, or is the next person on the list who is 35 the one who becomes President?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search