Alabama  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
11/15/09, 11:15 pm

Legal Question


I'm doing a research paper for my psychology class and it is on prostitution. I was wondering if an undercover officer can agree to pay online and then come to the prostitutes home and arrest them?


question bubble
11/21/09, 6:33 am

Legal Answer


Yes, absolutely. Undercover police officers do this everyday.

Search "entrapment" for when it may be illegal. In my own words, if a perpetrator had the propensity and desire to commit the crime, and the undercover officer merely facilitated the illegal act, it is not entrapment.

For additional fodder for discussion in your paper, see the "Dateline" stings (camera crews at houses where on-line sex offenders showed-up at houses to have sex with minors).

Good luck! Sounds like a good paper topic!

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search