Re: Consumer Action
To answer your question - yes you can sue the credit bureau Experian.
When a credit bureau puts wrong information on your report and then corrects it, there are specific rules about "reinsertion" that must be followed before the information can be put on there again. You must be notified in writing 5 days before the information is "reinserted" - this never happens in our experience.
The credit bureau must take special steps to make sure the reinserted information is accuarate. The fact that you disputed a SECOND time should have fixed this. Since it didn't, as Stan mentioned, your only real choice is to sue Experian to force them to follow the law.
A possible explanation for what happened is a result of how the system works. Experian normally uses "public record vendors" - these are companies that search the public records (such as judgments) and then send the reports to Experian. These types of companies often make mistakes. You disputed it and the mistake was corrected.
Well, the records vendor probably was doing another review of the court filings in your county and saw the judgment so it was sent to Experian again.
When you disputed it, all Experian likely did was to request the vendor to check out your dispute. They quite likely only did a cursory review and just saw the original judgment. If they had truly investigated it, the vendor would have seen the "removal" of the judgment.
I had a trial set today but it has been settled. Please feel free to email me at johngwatts@gmail.com and give me a good time to reach you today or you can call me directly.
You may want to read more about credit reporting errors at our blog - http://www.alabamaconsumerlawblog.com/credit_report_errors/
Best of luck and we look forward to speaking with you at your convenience to help you.
John Watts
www.alabamaconsumer.com
www.alabamaconsumerlawblog.com