Alabama | Consumer Law
Legal Question
Parent's Credit Card Debt
My mother, who has Alzheimer's, had to go into the nursing home in April of this year. She has a $5,000 credit card debt on one card (my name is not on the card). Medicaid is funding her nursing home care so all of her income, except $30 a month, goes to the nursing home. The nursing home has contacted the credit card co. and told them that she is now an indigent resident and cannot pay her debt. They are now putting pressure on me to pay it for her (this is the credit card co., not a collection agency). What can we do?


