Alabama  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
9/12/03, 3:59 pm

Legal Question


Was My Right To Privacy Violated

We filed bankruptcy and all creditors were notified. We aren't very proud of having to do so, so we kept this information between my husband and myself and our attorney. When Sears was notified they not only cancelled my husband and my own credit cards they also cancelled my mother-in-law's account. My mother-in-law flipped out and called my sister-in-law with the information we had filed bankruptcy and her account was closed and she could'nt charge anymore. Wasn't Sears in violation of our privacy and negligent in whose account they closed? My husband's whole side of the family knows we filed bankruptcy and I am now ashamed to have any contact with them. With all of the privacy notifcations going out shouldn't Sears had been more careful. Do we have a case against them?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search