Alabama | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Can someone come back after 10 years and try to make you pay a debt (much more than originally owed)?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: James Patterson |
The easy answer is no. If its a contractual debt, the generally rule of thumb is no more then 6 years past the contract date or last date of money borrowed. So 10 years would be past the date. They could still call you and send you letters to try to collect the debt, but if they filed a lawsuit, you could have it dismissed based on statute of limitations grounds. |
Top Attorneys in AL
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Mari Morrison, P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 687
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Murchison & Howard, LLC
Foley, AL
Questions Answered: 392
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Lewis, Feldman, & Lehane, LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 252
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-19
Randal S. Ford, Attorney at Law
Tuscaloosa, AL
Questions Answered: 206
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-25
Robert Kreitlein, Attorney at Law
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-20
Underwood & Reimer, P.C.
Mobile, AL
Questions Answered: 83
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-02
Stirling & Hood, LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 66
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-27
Watts Law Group, P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 63
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-03
Forrester & Associates
Jacksonville, AL
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-23
Search Questions and Answers


