Alabama  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
3/07/09, 10:11 pm

Legal Question


In Contempt

The settlement agreement attached to the divorce decree stated that my ex had to pay the credit cards he opened in my name while we were married. I had no knowledge of the cards until I started receiving notices from the companies. He has not paid them and the divorce was finalized Jan. 08. The card companies are threatening legal action against me. What do I do? I don't have a lot of money since I was recently laid off and he's not working (on the books, anyway) now. What's my best option? I no longer live in that city anymore either. And the credit companies are claiming not to have any original documentation of the initial application.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search