Alabama  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
3/10/04, 4:53 pm

Legal Question


Credit Card collection threatening with fraud

In 2001 my credit card (cc) was charged off ($4k). Recently I got a message on my voicemail by a guy telling me he is representing me on behalf of Mobile County (I live in Mobile AL) and I need to call him ASAP. I called and he tells me I had been in a civil suit ($8300) and lost in Nov. 2003 in Mobile County. However, I was living in Atlanta GA until Jan 2004. I told him I never knew I was being sued. He said civil suits don’t require my knowledge of them. He tells me his firm (in NY) was hired that before it goes to criminal charge of fraud, he would ‘mediate’ between the cc company & Mobile County. He told me if we don’t get this settled I am going to be charged with fraud. Then he explained that judgements may be placed upon me, probation, etc. He told me it is fraud because I had no intent to pay. He said we can settle now for 40% of the $8300. He said if I need a couple of months it would be 60%. He told me he was an attorney. Later I called back and someone else on the phone said it was a lawfirm. When I asked how are they differ from collection agency I was told that “we can take things to court.” Am I really about to be charged with fraud? Did I really already lose a civil case without ever knowing about it?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search