Alabama | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Law firm collecting debt that's already been paid
I bounced a check in Dec.2000. I paid the amount owed to the company. I don't have any receipt of transaction b/c I lost my house in a fire a year and a half ago. I recieved a letter last month from the lawfirm the collection agency had hired saying I had to pay within 30 days or there will be legal action because past attempts to collect have been made. I contacted the owner of the store (he no longer owns it anymore)- he said he doesn't have any documentation, but he says that I did pay it. The lawyers say that the collection agency still has my check, so since I have no written proof ( which is because of the fire) I can't do anything and I have to pay them or they will sue me. I know I paid this, and the owner of the business says I paid this (even though he has no documentation, not my fault). I would like to dispute this, but when I called they basically said too bad, screw you, pay us. I never received anything from the collection agency within this 2 1/2 year span until I received the letter from the lawfirm.I have lived in the same town for 5 years, I have moved but have always left a forwarding address.


