Alabama  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
4/26/07, 6:44 pm

Legal Question


liability in check fraud

Scenario: two people have a joint checking account of which there is $2.00 in the account. Person ''A'' writes several hundred dollars in checks, to individuals, when there is no money to cover them. Can the ''individuals'' include person ''B'' in their law suit?

Additional data:

This generates several hundered dollars in overdraft fees on the joint account. The bank notifies person ''B'' of overdrafts. Since both persons are authorized to write checks on the account, they state that both persons are accountable to the bank for the fees. Person ''B'' pays the fees, places a stop payment on all outstanding checks and closes the account.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search