Alabama  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
2/26/10, 7:18 am

Legal Question


Where to start.....Ok. My name is Danny Morris and I was presented with a notice from a law firm on a collection for hospital bills that supposedly accumulated, yet I was not aware of. I was informed that legal action could be taken against me and my wages garnished. I called the number provided, in order to talk through this matter and to clear it up. The gentleman who talked to me was rude and non-receptive to my telling him that I could not afford the $821.27 bill that had been mentioned. He told me to pay $287.09 per month or they would take legal action against me, since it was a criminal offense to not pay for doctors bills. He told me that there would be no paperwork made, so there would be no additional charges made against the bill. I started making money orders for $66.00usd and sent 5 money orders (4 at $66.00 and 1 at 69.27) just a little time before October 14th. I called the office in order to make sure the money orders had been received. I did get confirmation that the money orders had been received, but was told I could not get a receipt since there was no paperwork. I told them that I needed the receipts for my records. I put together three more money orders for $66.00 and sent them off with a letter, informing the collection agency that I would not be sending anymore money orders, unless they sent a receipt for all the money orders that I sent them. I was called twice, but had been asleep for work. When I would wake, I would call them (At roughly 5pm) with no response. I left several messages, letting them know when I would be awake. They would not return my calls and would not send me anything regarding the bill.

Recently, I have received a letter for court summons, sent by police. They claim I owe two separate payments of $451.52 for breach of contract, interest and lawyers fees. Plus, I owe an extra $51.00, but it may be more depending on how the case settles. They say that I must reply within 14 days or my plea will be taken as guilty and my wages will be garnished. Sirs, or Madams, I am a single man, who is left to take care of his mother and grandmother (Who is now in a nursing home, in bad condition). I cannot afford this and would like to know if I have a legal leg to stand on. What course of action can a man in my predicament take? The company in question is also a law firm, but they pose as a collection firm. If I had been sent a receipt, I would have been all to happy to send five more money orders for $66 a piece. That would not have been a problem. I confirm that I believe I owe this remaining $330.00 to this firm for the purpose of paying a past due bill, but I refuse to let these people walk over me. Please help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search