Alabama | Criminal Law
Legal Question
In Alabama what do you do when your appointed attorney will not contact you and wants you to accept a plea on plea day and has not even talked to you about the case?
In Alabama what do you do when your appointed attorney will not contact you and wants you to accept a plea on plea day and has not even talked to you about the case?
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Kreitlein |
Well, I'm assuming your attorney discussed the case with you when ya'll discussed the plea? Yes, ideally, you would have met with the attorney prior to plea day but keep in mind every county is different. In some counties, plea day is a month or two before the trial date. In those places, many attorneys just wait to discuss the case on the plea date.
However, in some counties the plea day is the week before the trial date. An attorney should never wait to discuss your case with you until the week before trial.
You can always fire an attorney who represents you. Judges don't like to allow that a whole lot so you may have to explain to the attorney and the judge why you want a different attorney but you can certainly request a different attorney.
This answer is based on the limited information given and is for general information purposes only. “Legal advice” is informed advice based on specific facts and knowledge of the complete situation. Therefore, this does not constitute “legal advice”, no attorney-client relationship is created and it should not be regarded as a substitute for direct consultation with an attorney based on the specific details of your situation.
|
|
Read More Answered By: Judson Crump |
You can fire your appointed lawyer and pay for your own. Also, the plea agreement is something you enter into on your own. No lawyer or judge can make you sign one. You have the right to go to trial and roll the dice if you want, even if it is not a good idea. |
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1215
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 687
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 200
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-12
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-21
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-20
Jacksonville, AL
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-23
Tuscaloosa, AL
Questions Answered: 29
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-28
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 9
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-06
► Can your business be sued in small claims court outside your state a on credit card
► I was raised by the State and made some bad choices when I was young. I now hold a...
► My husband was unfairly sentenced to 10 years for 2 counts of 3rd degree burglary. I...
► I was arrested for disorderly conduct in Montgomery, AL. This is a class C...
► When my brother was 20 years old (15 years ago), he was caught with possession of...
► I got put on Drug Court for 18 months for Obtaining Drugs by Fraud. I have to go to...
► Does detectives/police have the right to check or monitor my text messages for...
More Criminal Law questions and answers in Alabama| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press