Alabama | Criminal Law
Legal Question
My husband was unfairly sentenced to 10 years for 2 counts of 3rd degree burglary. I know the prison system is overcrowded and non violent offeders are being released early. I'm just trying to get an idea of how long he will have to serve of that sentence based on the prison oercrowding and good time?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Kreitlein |
I'm assuming his sentences on these two counts were run concurrently?
It's really hard to say how much time he'll end up doing and here's why:
First, I don't know how much time he got credit for serving in jail before his sentencing. Second, when he starts accruing "good time" and how much he gets is dependent on the Department of Corrections. His parole date, though, is set by the Board of Pardons and Parole. Third, any prior conviction and arrest record might mitigate against an early parole.
But I can probably give you a ballpark figure of around 2-3 years, though it would be less depending on how much time he served in jail before being sent to prison.
Again, there are many factors that go into this so it could be less or more. (In addition, parole is not a "right". If he committed disciplinary infractions in prison or had some other problems, he might have to do all 10 years...though that would be unlikely)
This answer is based on the limited information given and is for general information purposes only. “Legal advice” is informed advice based on specific facts and knowledge of the complete situation. Therefore, this does not constitute “legal advice”, no attorney-client relationship is created and it should not be regarded as a substitute for direct consultation with an attorney based on the specific details of your situation. |
Top Attorneys in AL
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Mari Morrison, P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 687
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Walter l. Blocker, III P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 200
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-12
Pfeifer LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-21
Robert Kreitlein, Attorney at Law
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-20
Forrester & Associates
Jacksonville, AL
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-23
Dennis Harmon
Tuscaloosa, AL
Questions Answered: 29
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-28
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
The Harris Firm LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 9
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-06
Search Questions and Answers


