Can I be sentence to 30 days jail time? On 1st misdimenor charge of possession? Never been charged before. I sthis fair?
1 Answer from Attorneys
You could be. However, for a first offense, it would be unusual for you to actually serve time for that. If you plead guilty, then you would probably get the sentence suspended to probation. If you plead not guilty and go to trial and lose, then actually serving 30 days would not be unusual. You definitely need to talk to your lawyer and see what the DA is offering.
Related Questions & Answers
Early last year I was in a really desparate financial situation so I starting... Asked 3/16/10, 10:30 am in United States Alabama Criminal Law
RE: Alabama Law. Is There A Staute Of Limition On Sex Crimes ? Asked 3/13/10, 7:54 am in United States Alabama Criminal Law
I am 28 years old, and I am currently in a relationship with a 17 year old. I live... Asked 3/11/10, 6:08 am in United States Alabama Criminal Law
Can you sue a lawyer for taking your money and not doing the job? They took the... Asked 3/05/10, 6:22 pm in United States Alabama Criminal Law
What does the term -"case dismissed without prejudice" mean? Asked 3/04/10, 4:51 am in United States Alabama Criminal Law