Alabama  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
6/15/04, 6:07 pm

Legal Question


Discriminatory Work Dress Policy

The company I worked for had a dress policy in place which stated casual professional dress. I have some scars and cuts on my forearms and was told I had to wear a long sleeve shirt when the other male who worked for the company could and did wear short sleeves and the females could wear sleeveless shirts, flip flops, sandles, etc. When I came in with a short sleeve shirt I was told I had to wear long sleeves. I asked why and was told it was policy. I asked to see that policy and go no response. The very next day I again wore a short sleeve shirt. I was taken into the Administrator's office and told I had to wear long sleeves and did not matter what the other employees did. I told them I would rather resign and gave my notice. They then told me to leave and not return.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search