Alabama | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
employment
is it ok for an employer to pull your credit record even after being there for 2 years?don't they have to have permission from me?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sterling DeRamus |
Re: employment It's not exactly clear from your post whether they would have such a right or not. There is no general right to pull credit reports, but if the reason is valid, then it is not an issue. Banks for example do it routinely because of concerns over money handling (people with bad credit sometimes resort to illegal means to pay).
But regardless, if there is anything negative on your credit report and you are denied any benefit as a result, they are required to notify you of such adverse information and give you an opportunity to challenge it. Failure to do so can result in a lawsuit against them under the FCRA.
If they are not using your credit report for an authorized reason, then that too could give you a lawsuit against them and damages.
Of course, it would be best (for the lawsuit that is) if you were terminated as a result of your credit report being false (and about 2/3 of them have errors). Then you'd have some serious damages.
You have a right to check and see if anyone has accessed your credit report through your yearly free credit report. Demand it from the credit agencies and find out exactly why the pulled your credit report.
Good luck, and if you have any other questions, send me an email at sderamus@bellsouth.net
I'll be happy to help in anyway that I can!
Sterling L. DeRamus, Attorney at Law |
Top Attorneys in AL
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Robert Kreitlein, Attorney at Law
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-20
Forrester & Associates
Jacksonville, AL
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-23
The PARKS Law Group
Mobile, AL
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-20
Redden, Mills & Clark
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-28
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Southern Legal Group, P.C.
Opelika, AL
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-10
Search Questions and Answers


