Alabama  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
3/09/09, 8:46 pm

Legal Question


terminal illness

can I be fired for being diagnosed with a terminal illness


question bubble
3/09/09, 10:21 pm

Legal Answer


Re: terminal illness

I really need more facts to answer your question. If you like, call me tomorrow. 205.752.4440

Randal Ford

Randal Ford

Randal S. Ford, Attorney at Law 2330 University Blvd. Suite 601 Tuscaloosa, AL 35402

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
3/10/09, 9:30 am

Legal Answer


Re: terminal illness

That is an interesting question,which cannot be fully answered without knowing more facts. If you are still able to do your job, it may violate the Americans With Disabilities Act to terminate you because of simply a diagnosis. Also, if the termination is to avoid being responsible for medical expenses or disability benefits under employer-provided benefits, that may be a violation of a federal law known as ERISA. I suggest you contact me or another attorney to discuss your situation.

Gerald Miller

Redden, Mills & Clark 505 N. 20th St. Birmingham, AL 35203

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search