Alabama | DUI Law
Legal Question
Police officer fired
If the police officer has been fired can the charges against me be dropped? I was charged with a DUI and have already been in front of a judge. I got differed judication. Just wondering?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Randal Ford |
Re: Police officer fired No. A "deferred adjudication" generally means something other than a conviction or Youthful Offender.
Did you sign any documents admitting guilt? If so, those documents could be used against you if you fail to follow through with the deferred adjudication plan (which I assume is DUI school, etc.). Some district courts and municipal courts REQUIRE a signed guilty plea BEFORE allowing deferred adjudication to ensure that if you do not follow through with the Court's orders that you will be found guilty (because you already admitted being guilty). If you do "mess up" you have to determine whether the plea or agreement you signed was more than 14 days ago and if it started the time period to appeal to Circuit Court.
The assumption you are going on is that the officer will NOT appear at Court in the future or testify against you. Unless you know first hand why the officer was fired you may not want to risk screwing up and having the Court issue a subpoena for the former officer to appear in Court to testify.
Feel free to email if you have questions or believe you the facts of your case require more explanation. You did not provide sufficient facts to make an accurate determination regarding your specific fact situation (such as the court, county, documents you may have signed, etc.) |
Top Attorneys in AL
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Mari Morrison, P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 687
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Randal S. Ford, Attorney at Law
Tuscaloosa, AL
Questions Answered: 206
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-25
Walter l. Blocker, III P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 200
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-12
Pfeifer LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-21
Robert Kreitlein, Attorney at Law
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-20
Forrester & Associates
Jacksonville, AL
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-23
McLaughlin & Edmondson, LLC
Guntersville, AL
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Search Questions and Answers


