Alabama  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/27/09, 5:25 pm

Legal Question


Hi, I'm 17 and live in the state of Alabama. I will be 18 in two weeks. I'm asking you if I am elgible of moving in with a family member or a friend. The reason in doing so is because of my home life. My mother mentally abuses me nearly daily and often hits, kicks, pulls my hair and throws objects at me. I just need help and the right information so I can leave. I can't handle this... PLEASE help me.


question bubble
11/01/09, 7:48 pm

Legal Answer


You can contact your local DHR and make a complaint, you can also advise a teacher who is supposed to contact DHR under the law. But you are still a minor until age 19. If you have a family member willing to take you in, why not ask them to do it and for them to tell your mother they will take care of you.

Mari Morrison

Mari Morrison, P.C. P.O. Box 36783 Birmingham, AL 35236-6783

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search