Legal Question in Family Law in Alabama

I have an 18 month old niece her mom is a single parent. Her mom drinks and gets drunk almost everyday. She jusy got arrested with her forth DUI. She says if she goes to jail she was giving temperary custody to a friend and not family. I want the baby. Can she do that? What can I do?

Asked on 5/28/13, 1:10 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jennifer Tompkins Stewart Littell Courson and Tompkins LLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You need to file a petition in juvenile court based on dependency in the county that your niece lives. Family does have priority but timing is essential.

Read more
Answered on 5/29/13, 9:10 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Alabama

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

89033 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now