Alabama | Family Law
Legal Question
child support
I have been paying child support for 5 years. My children are now 18 and 19. support is suppose to stop at age 19 (per divorce decree). i have also changed jobs two years ago with a $4 an hour pay cut. I did not ask to have child support reduced at that time. Now that the kids are 19 and 18 I am taking my ex back to court to reduce and finally stop child support in december when youngest child turns 19. My court date is March 11. My ex ask on 3/5/02 to have court date posponed. She is trying to pospone date as long as she can to get as much money as she can. I heard she could pospone 3 times. By then it will be december. If date is posponed do I still have to pay her $426 a month until court? Can she pospone if I don't agree to it? She will drag this out forever. I filed this case in August. That's how long I've been waiting for a court date. I have never missed a payment, and was more than fair when I got a new job. I need a break though. THe oldest child doesn't even live with her anymore. Please help. Thank you.


