Alabama | Family Law
Legal Question
Is common law in effect in alabama if she did'nt take my name? we share a child.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Mari Morrison |
Yes it is in effect but the burden of proof is, did either you or she hold yourself out to the public as married. Did you file income tax together and claim to be husband and wife? Have you tried to purchase anything together and claim to be husband and wife. Now as to sharing a child, one of you is going to pay child support ultimately. The child is not yours legally until you file a paternity action and only thru that will you have rights of visitation legally. I would suggest you look into this because otherwise, you might wind up sometime in the future owing two years back child support at 12 percent interest a year. They can go back two years. If I can assist you, please visit my web site and contact me either thru email or my telephone number. |
Top Attorneys in AL
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Mari Morrison, P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 687
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Murchison & Howard, LLC
Foley, AL
Questions Answered: 392
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Walter l. Blocker, III P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 200
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-12
Pfeifer LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-21
Scott Law Office
Headland, AL
Questions Answered: 104
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-02
Forrester & Associates
Jacksonville, AL
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-23
Redden, Mills & Clark
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-28
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Lowe & Myer
Alexander City, AL
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 1999-01-04
Search Questions and Answers


