Alabama | Family Law
Legal Question
common law maggiage
Alabama recognizes common-law-margiages but how long of a time ( ie a over-night stay ,a year ,month ) must two live together before concider binding ?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Michael McNair |
Re: common law maggiage Time together is only one factor. The question is whether the couple hold themselves out to be married and whether they do things that most married couples do. Do they have joint checking accounts? Do they file joint tax returns as being married? Does the wife use the husband's last name? Do they buy things jointly? Do they introduce each other as husband or wife? etc. The whole picture must be looked at to make a determination as to common law marriage. |
Top Attorneys in AL
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Mari Morrison, P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 687
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Murchison & Howard, LLC
Foley, AL
Questions Answered: 392
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Walter l. Blocker, III P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 200
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-12
Pfeifer LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-21
Scott Law Office
Headland, AL
Questions Answered: 104
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-02
Forrester & Associates
Jacksonville, AL
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-23
Redden, Mills & Clark
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-28
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Lowe & Myer
Alexander City, AL
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 1999-01-04
Search Questions and Answers


