Alabama | Family Law
Legal Question
Commonlaw Marrage
Define Commonlaw Marrage in State of Alabama.
Thanks,
JEK
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Fred Wood |
Re: Commonlaw Marrage Commonlaw Marriage in Al. is determined by the intention of the parties. There is no specific time limit on establishing a CLM. Basicly, if the parties intend to be married then they are married. In a contested situation, the court looks at how the parties held themselves out to the public. The court will look at such things as filing a joint tax return, having a joint P.O. Box, having a joint checking account, one party having the other on their health insurance as a spouse, etc. Factually, the question is did the parties hold themselves out to their friends and the public as being married. Did they introduce each other to people as "my wife" or "my husband" or did they say "my friend" or "my companion" or "my live in Partner". Whether or not they have had children together is only one of many factors and is not the most important. You can live with someone a few days and be common law married or you can live with someone 20 years and not be. It all depends on how you hold yourself out to the public. Hope this helps. |
Top Attorneys in AL
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1215
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Mari Morrison, P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 687
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 421
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Murchison & Howard, LLC
Foley, AL
Questions Answered: 392
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Walter l. Blocker, III P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 200
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-12
Pfeifer LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-21
Scott Law Office
Headland, AL
Questions Answered: 104
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-02
Forrester & Associates
Jacksonville, AL
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-23
Redden, Mills & Clark
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-28
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Search Questions and Answers


