Legal Question in Family Law in Alabama

My daughter was married a year ago in September. She and new spouse are from MS and were married in AL. They have recently split and he admitted his previous marriage was not over/final until 3 months after their marriage. What to do now? File something in AL or MS????

Asked on 10/30/13, 11:54 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mari Morrison Mari Morrison, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

My understanding is that now that the marriage is final in MS, they are legally married in Alabama. So, if she lives here, they can file a divorce here.

Read more
Answered on 10/30/13, 6:34 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Alabama

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now