Alabama | Family Law
Legal Question
My ex-girlfriend (never married) moved with our daughter from alabama to tennessee about 3 years ago. She did not tell me she was moving. We were together untill our daughter was 6 years old, we when seperated, my daughter lived with her mother (approx. 4 months), but visitation was never a problem. She brought her over 2-3 times a week, (while she worked,etc.). Then one day she walks out the door and says she will bring our daughter over that weekend. She didn't. That was 3 years ago. I have not seen or even spoken with her (my daughter) since. I talked to her mother 2 weeks after she was suppose to come by, and she said she's engaged to someone and living in tennessee now, and she would have my daughter call me that weekend. I never heard from them again. I tried calling her cell phone for last 2 1/2 years and she would never answer, it would always go to her personalized voicemail. I would leave messages begging to speak with my daughter and never heard anything. Now her cell phone number (only # I had) is no longer in service. I have no phone number, address, or anything to contact her. All I know is she is Tn somewhere. When this happened 3 years ago I had no way of hiring lawyer financially. I kept thinking she would have her call me, but never did. I just want to hear my daughters voice. I don't know if I should go to police, lawyer or what. I never had any problems with her mother (my ex). This was a complete shock to me when this happenend. My ex's brother (daughters uncle) called me a month ago to let me know my daughter was ok, but wouldn't say more than that. I'm young and self-employed and don't have thousands of dollars for a lawyer. I just want to be a part of my daughters life. I miss her so much. What should I do? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I have not spoken with no lawyers or police about this. I have researched online and still don't know what I should do. What would a lawyer cost approx. ? Do I need a lawyer from alabama or tennessee? PLEASE HELP Thank you.


