Alabama | Family Law
Legal Question
nonparent guardianship of minor child
My ex husband has legal custody of my 15 year old ''former'' stepdaughter and wishes to give legal guardianship to me. She lives with her mother and that situation is no longer in the best interest of the minor child. Her father is incapable of caring for her at this time. She lived in my home prior to our divorce. My question is- how do we go about establishing guardianship? What legal documents are necessary and do they need to filed in the courts?


