Alabama | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Statue of Limitations for Sex Abuse Lawsuit
My daughter was sexually abused in 2001 and 2002. The abuser was arrested in May 2002 and convicted in May 2003. We did not file a civil lawsuit against him for damages because he had no assets to pay any judgement against him. He has now sued the counselor who reported the abuse for $1 million dollars. I don't want him to profit from abusing my daughter, so I would like to sue him for the mental anguish he caused my daughter. What grounds can I sue on and what is the Statue of Limitations for filing such as lawsuit?


