Alabama  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
2/05/03, 2:40 pm

Legal Question


Internet fraud by online publisher?

I signed a contract in Jan. 2002 with an online publisher from Toney, Alabama to publish my book, and never received a signed copy of the contract. They published my book, releasing it August 2002. They claimed they registered my copyright, but I never received my certificate. They secured an ISBN and advertised my book for sale on their website and with online retailers. My first copies were full of mistakes. The publisher promised to rescind the bad copies, make amends with customers, and send their outsourced printing company the correct proof. They have not. Some customers still have not received their book.. In Dec. 2002, I received my first royalty check, which BOUNCED! After complaining, their response was to drop me as a client. Yet they continue to sell my book and reap profit from its sales on their website/retailers. They still have not made good on my check. I have royalties coming due for 4th quarter 2002 and 1st quarter 2003 as well. They ignore me now. I want to take my book to another publisher, but have been told I need an ''intent to sever'' letter from my old publisher. Does the e-mail they sent dropping me as one of their authors count? How can I get my royalty money?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search