Alabama  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
4/11/03, 4:00 am

Legal Question


Search of dormitory rooms

I live in a residence hall. In the handbook, it states that the ''administration reserves the right to enter and inspect the dormitory rooms at any time for the purpose of inspecting, protecting or maintaining property and for the purpose of promoting the safety and well-being of all concerned.'' I understand that they can come in and inspect my room at any time, but is there a limit to the scope of their inspection? Can they check anything that they want to incuding my private property (such as my refrigerator and microwave which are not furnished by the school) without cause? For example, when they check my closet, are they restricted to the things that are in ''plain sight'' or can they go through my personal items that are contained in the closet?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search