Alabama  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
8/27/00, 3:21 pm

Legal Question


improper medication

84 year old relative was suffering from backpain. I took him to the ER at an orthopedic hospital on two occasions in the past two weeks. Each time, after reviewing his history and current meds (including blood thinner coumadin for heart condition) they prescribed pain meds, lortab I beleive, and on the second visit medrol dose pack steroids. They gave us no warning of any possible bleeding complications from their prescriptions. Two days after ER visist, MRI showed several disc herniations. However that night, last Tuesday, patient, who had no history of GI trouble, began severe GI bleeding, he has been in ICU for four days, currently expected to survive with no long term compications, but received over 10 units of blood, even more plasma, came within a hair of bleeding to death, suffered several days of extreme pain and came within an hour of an operation to remove his stomach. Hospital stay is not yet over. Doctors say the bleeding was the direct result of the pain and steroid meds from the ER. Patient, prior to this episode, ios in excellent mental health and is physically self sufficient, lives at home and can still drive

Is this actionable? Is there any compensatory offset for insurance payments?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search