Re: UNINSURED MOTORIST
If your dad paid the money ON THE DAY IT WAS DUE you should be o.k. If he paid the money before you got a termination letter saying your policy had lapsed you should be o.k. If not, then you are not insured.
DO NOT speculate about this, CALL YOUR INSURANCE COMPANY AND SEE IF THEY ACCEPT YOUR CLAIM OR NOT! They will tell you pretty quickly.
It doesn't matter if the other driver had a license or not. Having a license or not having a license does not mean that you are a 'bad' driver.
Get a WRITTEN STATEMENT FROM THE WITNESS! Don't worry about what the police officer says, he wasn't there to see the accident, so the officer is just giving his educated guess.
GET A WRITTEN STATEMENT FROM THE WITNESS! GET WITNESS's NAME AND ADDRESS so you can subpoena him/her to court if you are actually sued and they can testify.
Get an estimate for your car (to have it fixed). MAIL THE ESTIMATE AND THE WITNESS statement to the OTHER DRIVER'S insurance company!
That is about all you can do until you find out if you have insurance and if you are being sued. You have a definite amount of time in which you MUST file your case in a Court of Law or you will lose YOUR right to sue for damages. This is called a statute of limitations. If you are physically injured from the wreck, I suggest you contact an attorney.
As you are not a client of our firm and have not entered into an attorney-client relationship, the above information is provided merely as illustrative of the potential responses or options that might be available based upon the above fact situation submitted.
The Cahaba Law Group LLC
Randal S. Ford
205 / 759-3232