Alabama  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
10/30/02, 5:03 pm

Legal Question


Breaking lease without loss of deposit

I have an annual lease which ends the last day of Feb 2003. Since June, my daughter's bedroom window has leaked to the point that the floor and window sill are completely rotted. This is a condo association and I rent from the owner of this condo. Today, 10/30/02, they have finally came and began work on my daughter's room. The entire wall, including a double window, are having to be replaced. The room is totally unavailable for habitation, not to mention the fumes of dust and mildew. Can I break my lease, with a 30-day notice, without losing my deposit because of this?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search