Alabama  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
12/21/05, 7:48 pm

Legal Question


land issue in will

My father is the Executor of the assest left to him by his parents. He also has a sister who is named Beneficiary in the same will. Together they on 26 acers that was left to them in the will. There was a verbal agreement between my father and my grandfather that the land my dad lives on would be his. My father has lived on this 6 acres (which is included in the 26 acers in the will) for 31 years. Now his sister wants to split the land up. Well she does not see the 6 acers as my fathers land and wants to split the 26 in 13 equally. He has no deed or proof other than verbal.Is there any thing that can be done to take out the 6 acres and the settle the rest equally? My father never took time to settle this matter when my grandfather was living. I was hoping there might be some kind of land owership law over time.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search