Alabama  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
7/09/00, 4:35 pm

Legal Question


Landlord allows drug dealers to live in complex/breach of lease

I'm renting my first apartment. My landlord hasn't fulfilled several promises he has made concerning having the place clean and painted when I moved in, supplying substandard (filthy) appliances for me to use and allowing a drug dealer to live in our building.

All other problems I can live with, but the drug dealing scares me. The landlord is aware of the dealing, he knows the cops have been over to our building several times, the mother of the drug dealer openly tells everyone she's months behind on rent but the landlord won't do anything to get them out of the place.

I'm currently moving my stuff back to my parents' place and still have to pay rent until November. I want to fight having to pay the remainder of the rent for living under these horrendous conditions.

What legal grounds do I have for breaking the lease? There is a clause in my lease I can share here which prohibits this behavior.

All help is appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search