Alabama | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Legal protection on assuming real estate mortgage with special circumstances
I'll try to make this brief.
My father-in-law is offering myself and my wife the oppurtunity to purchase a home he has had on the market for a year. Due to credit problems we cannot qualify for a mortgage loan. He is willing to allow us to move in and make the existing mortgage payment and the home will be deeded over to us at loan maturity (6 years from now).
I feel we need some type of security to ensure ...
1. We get the home deeded to us in 6 years.
2. Are protected in case of his death or if he is some way
incapacitated (there are three other children).
Would a simple document drawn up stating the deal and signed by myself and he as well as notarized be sufficient? Or would a more in depth legal document be needed? BTW he will not discuss whether he has a will or not...that also has me concerned.


