Alabama | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Was Security Deposit Refunded in Timely Manner?
I understand some states have 21 days to refund security deposits. What is the law in Alabama? I vacated the rented premises on March 4th, 2002, and the security deposit was mailed to me on April 11th, 2002. That's 38 days. Was my security deposit refunded in compliance with the laws in Alabama? She also withheld $250 to clean the carpet, $150 for housecleaning, $75 to wash windows. Thank you. I personally cleaned the property as I have always done to be entitled to refund. Nothing else was mentioned. Am I responsible for all the professional cleaning for the next tenants? Now that I have filed a Sm Clms suit against her for the above expenses, she is countering me with $144 blindcleaning, $535 to replace a internal door, $ for misc repairs/ replacements = $869. I lived there almost 4 yrs and that's reasonable wear/tear and better conditions than when I moved in. She is finding anything for leverage and I can't afford to lose anymore $. There wasn't a walk-through coming into or out of the lease. Is she being fair? Should I drop it? She is trying to scare me and it's working. What are my chances of winning what's fair?


