Alabama | Traffic Law
Legal Question
Driving Without License (License Lost)
What are the laws concerning driving without a drivers license in possession - but having a valid license? The driver in question had lost his license in a recent move, and not having a copy of his birth certificate, has sent off to Michigan to receive it. Ticket was issued over the Christmas/New Year's Holiday and the documentation from Michigan has been slow in arriving. Drives only when absolutely necessary until it can arrive and he get a new license. Got pulled by local sheriff's department on one such trip. What are the chances of going to court to get ticket dismissed? Fine was $213 - which seems very hefty. Any suggestions/ recommended course of action would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.


