Alabama  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
10/29/09, 5:37 pm

Legal Question


i was awarded a piece of property by inheritance, money was owed on the property when it was in my moms name but was paid off by the estate administrator. My question is without any written agreement am i liable for any of the money that was paid by the administrator. The property is now in my name and is deeded to me


question bubble
11/03/09, 6:24 pm

Legal Answer


While it is possible that an administrator could make a claim against the property (or against other assets still in the estate that you are to receive), normally in Alabama, the property that passes through an estate passes with the mortgages, liens or other items attached which causes question as to why it was paid off to begin with. There are many other facts that would have to be evaluated to properly answer your question, however, from the few facts that you have stated, I would say you have a very good defense if they attempt to force you to repay the amounts. You need to contact an attorney who handles probate and estate matters to fully discuss this matter.

Rodney Edmondson

McLaughlin & Edmondson, LLC
321 Blount Ave
Guntersville, AL 35976

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search

 


Translated Question

flags i was awarded a piece of property by inheritance, money was in Italiano

flags i was awarded a piece of property by inheritance, money was in Chinese (Simplified)

flags i was awarded a piece of property by inheritance, money was in Chinese (Traditional)

flags i was awarded a piece of property by inheritance, money was in Deutsch

flags i was awarded a piece of property by inheritance, money was in French

flags i was awarded a piece of property by inheritance, money was in Spanish

flags i was awarded a piece of property by inheritance, money was in Japanese

flags i was awarded a piece of property by inheritance, money was in Arabic

flags i was awarded a piece of property by inheritance, money was in Russian

flags i was awarded a piece of property by inheritance, money was in Hebrew