Alabama  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/11/09, 8:16 pm

Legal Question


I was born in Alabama. My biological father left my mother and myself when I was 10 months old. They divorced a year or two later. My biological father had no contact with me from the day he left by his own choice.My biological father briefly was made to pay child support when he was in the Navy. He has since married (had two children -my half sisters) My mother later remarried and I was adopted by my stepfather when I was about 9 years old. My half sisters only recently found out about me. My biological father's family has had no contact with me until recently. My question is -can I inherit from my biological father's estate when he dies?


question bubble
11/17/09, 9:16 am

Legal Answer


If he dies with a valid will, you would have to be included in the will or challenge his will and prevail in order to receive anything. If he dies without a will, you would have to overcome your adoption before you could claim an interest as his child. In other words, it will be an uphill battle unless you are included in his will.

William Nolan

Nolan Elder Law LLC 1232 Blue Ridge Blvd Hoover, AL 35226

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search