Alabama  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
8/07/09, 10:44 am

Legal Question


If someone dies without a will in the state of AL and there is a small amount of money (less than $5,000.00) due the deceased person from an account and there are no surviving children, spouses or parents, what is the best and least expensive way for a niece, great grandchild or other distant relative to claim the money? The release of the money from the account can only be made if we have a document signed by a probate judge or other court official.


question bubble
8/12/09, 10:51 am

Legal Answer


This situation will have to go through probate. So you will be subject to those fees.

James Seal

Law Office of James V. Seal, LLC 115 Richard Arrington Jr. Blvd Birmingham, AL 35203

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search