Alabama | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
family responsibility
My Dad died in September 2000. He had no assets other than a $10,000.00 life insurance policy. The proceeds of the policy were split between myself and a half sister. Dad's funeral expenses were paid out of the proceeds of the insurance. Both my Sister and myself received $4,200.00. With no assets the county Probate Court would not probate the will, thus no estate existed.
Question: Dad had a vehicle leased through GMAC, it was returned in good condition earlier that the terms of the lease. GMAC is aggressively pursuing me to pay them $3,200.00. Since I did not contract for this vehicle I have no obligation ?
Also Dad had 1 credit card that I am being pressed to pay, and 3 hospital bills.
What am I legally obligated to do ?
Legal Answer
Re: family responsibility
Life insurance passes OUTSIDE the estate. As for the creditors DO NOTHING. Dont even respond to them. If they wish to have the estate probated they can. If there is nothing there, that is their tough luck. If they keep harassing you, contact an attorney. You may call me at 205-733-1131. No charge for consult.
Leigh Love
Leigh Love PO Box 435 Gadsden, AL 35902
► Other answers from this attorney

