Alabama | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Father loses house and money
Upon my mother's death her will left the house and savings to a grandson. During a time when her life was unbearable after the death of a son she made her husband sign over the house and savings so she could provide for a young grandson in the event of her death. She wanted to die. This was 1996 and she lived until 2002. The boy is now grown and able to care for himself. My father is 73. My brother, the boy's father, is not willing to give the money back but is willing to give the house. The will is now being probated and my father is going to contest. At her death she was not aware of anything, she was in a world of her own for several years and didnot know anyone. What can I do as the daughter. I want this back for my father. I was also not listed in the will but that alright. My brother is handling this for his son and no one even talks to the boy. My brother has also threatened my father for contesting this. Can the law take his house and savings away from him. They were married for over 50 years and he took care of her the whole time.


