Alabama  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
12/02/09, 2:52 pm

Legal Question


Hi!

My husband and I finalized our divorce in July of 2006. Both of our names are on the deed to the home, but only mine is on the mortgage (his credit was too bad at the time). In the divorce papers, it states I owe him 1/2 of the home's equity -- $3,800 -- due by July 2009 or when the home sells, whichever comes first. Well, I paid him this amount early (even though the home was not for sale at the time) in 2008, and we both signed a document stating this early payout. The divorce papers also tell me that I will be the sole owner of the home after the marriage is dissolved.

Now, my house is for sale since I have remarried and moved. I had a quitclaim deed drawn up and now he is refusing to sign it. What legal recourse do I have?

Thanks for your help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search