Alabama  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
7/26/03, 3:21 pm

Legal Question


With out a will

My Mother passed away in 1992 without a will in Alabama. The way I read Alabama Law, mothers part of everything after the first $50,000, dollars went to her children.

In 2001 my father married a woman and she had my mothers name taken off and her name added to 6 acres of land.

The way I read it that land should have been 50% the property of the 3 children and the transaction of the my fathers wife putting it in her name should be voided.

The original deed states that 4 acres of the land went to mother heirs and the other piece of 2 acres went to the surviving spouse which would be may father at that time.

This is another way it looks like at least 4 acres is 50%the property of mothers children.

My father has since passed away and his wife is claiming the land.

Do we have a right to the land and if so should we file a lawsuit to get it back.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search