Alabama  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
7/13/04, 12:59 pm

Legal Question


Terminated after filing workers comp claim

On the 06-03-04 I was doing a repair to a DC-9 aircraft when I started to feel pain in my left shoulder. I reported it to my supervisor who then filled out paperwork and sent me to Hosp. The doctor told me I had a straned trapzious musle. and told me to take 24 hours off work. On the 06-07-04 I returned to work. My supervisor tells me that he was told to watch me because they were afrade I would file a claim. Also he told me they were going to ask people to take time off till the 07-06-04 when things were expected to pick up. I continued to work even though I continued to feel pain in my left shoulder. On the 06-16-04 I went to the doctor to have my left shoulder looked at as the pain was getting worse. Dr. put me on restricted duty. Also I was told I was being scheduled an appointment with ortho. and not to return to work till after evaluation by ortho. I reported this to employer. I kept my appointment and was told I had brusitius in my left shoulder and I was given the status of return to duty with the restrictions. I reported this to employer human resources. I was then told that I had been terminated. I asked why and was told because of poor performance. I was a top producer with low errors. Do I have a case.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search