Arizona  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
8/10/00, 11:28 pm

Legal Question


Clean Credit

I was separated from my ex-wife when she rented an apartment in Scottsdale,Arizona using my name and my personal information. At that time, I was in the process of filling divorce and I living and renting another apartment. I never signed the lease contract.

After one year, I received a letter from a colletor's agent asking me to pay for my ex-wife's debt. I explained to him the situation and gave him my ex-wife's telephone number. He contacted her and she agreeded to pay her liability. I've never heard anything from the case, until now when I am trying to rent an apartment and received my credit report stating that I had not paid for my ex-wife debt.

The collector's Agent took my name to court and now I have a judment against me. I did not receive any paper, neither from the collector's nor from the court.

OBS:. The actual debt occured after the divorce was finalized.

What should I do to clean my credit?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search