Legal Question in Personal Injury in Arizona

On private property, a man says I backed into his van. I don't think I did. I started to drive away, and noticed he was yelling and turning around to follow me. I had only gone about 100 feet away, and I stopped. I told him I didn't hit him. He was taking pictures of me and my licence plate, etc. I am a courier, and had a package that I had to get to east Mesa within an hour. My dispatcher told me if I didn't hit him I should leave, and not give him any info. I left like they told me, but first I wrote down my name, phone, insurance info, work name and phone and gave it to him, then I went on to deliver the package. Within an hour, Scottsdale PD was telling my work that to avoid hit and run charges I was to call him, asap..which I did. I talked to him several times. He said they were gonna charge me with hit and run, cause I drove that 100 feet before I pulled over, and I was required to give info on my address and vin number. Well, he has a picture of my plate, so that would take care of the vin number, and this guy was irate and scary, and I wasn't about to give him my address. Anyway, I now have to go to court on 3 charges: 1-Leaving accident scene, damage vehicle, 2=Failure to remain at accident scene, 3-Failure to give info at accident scene. Could you tell me what should I do? Fight it? I feel I left plenty of info, I talked a bunch of times to the police, never tried to hide or run. I am also on minimum supervisory probation, until around Dec 2010. Will this get me violated? Thanks for answering. Diane DeGar

Asked on 10/10/10, 2:11 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

James Jenkins Jenkins Law Center PLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

This is a criminal law question, not injury and tort. Yes you need to defend, and get a criminal law attorney to help you right away. Good luck.

Read more
10/16/10, 8:43 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Arizona

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8787 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Personal Injury Law and Tort Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now